Sundays are for rest…

A good friend and co worker was taking off on an adventure from Canada to the Bay Area,

via hwy 1 the following week. The plan was to meet up and ride out to Martinez in honor of this. We’d lunch and some pints, then take Amtrak back home. 

It was a beautiful morning, with deep blue skys, scattered clouds, and a fairly “chilly” wind from the north. 
5 of us meet up at 10AM and got to pedaling. A good, non eventfully ride to Crockett. We took a break at the look out of the Carquinez bridge.

    

   

There was a group of sport bike riders( out for their Sunday ride ), parked there. It reminded me of years past. 

Once back on the road, we had a small ride into Martinez. Winding on old roads, through grasslands that were green with fresh rain, Animals grassing…a good time! 

   
  
 Lunch was at a cool little spot in downtown Martinez. Their sweat potato fries were so good!
After lunch, the plan was still to hop on the train. But I decided to ride home. Full of food and drinks, and up for some adventure, I headed west. Definitely tired, my pace was on the slow side. Once out of downtown, the quasi country roads were a pleasure. I hadn’t been out there in a few years. It seemed a lot of homes were up for sale. And some “track” homes were being erected too. It seems nothing can stay the same near a big city.  
 I was really tired at this point. But I realized going slow, you see so much more. A cool pair of cowboys cut out of brass, nail to someone’s mail box. Lots of birds soaring around taking advantage of the wind. Mind you, the same wind that was slowing me down!  

 There was a small creek next to the road. Cars were even polite. The head wind I spoke of, seemed to have brought hail to downtown Martinez. I could see the dark cloud looming in the east. 

  I pedaled on, munching on dark chocolate and enjoying the slow views. Not thinking about the wind…at least trying not too!   

  
Once on San Pablo Dam rd. It was a gravely, dusty mess. Clark rd was a welcomed turn off. I climbed up to Wild Cat park entrance. My plan was to catch the sun set from the hills. The park was a sight for sore eyes. I hadn’t been there for a few months, and oh how I missed it! Rolling hills, eucalyptus trees rustling in the blowing wind. A small hawk surfed the sky just overhead, looking for dinner. 

  The the evening sun illuminating the tops of its wings. A dry trail mixed with muddy patches led to the top of the hill. I passed more cows and their young, then other people. The wind was extremely strong at the top of the hill. I put on my windbreaker and pedal down to a bench to watch the sunset. 

  

 The Bay Area lay out in front of me. The setting sun going in and out of rain clouds, the grass dancing in the wind, cows grazing near by, I don’t think it could have been much better.  
As the light started to dwindle, I mounted up and battled the cow hoofed muddy path home. There was a good 30′ section of deep mud, well deep when you are on a folding bike! And I managed to make a clean pass ;)A great day. Good friends, decent food, a great ride, and an excellent reminder of how enjoyable nature is. 

Leave a Reply

